Uncategorized

Blessed

Hello lovelies! We are only a few short verses away from the end of this series. It has been a neat experience to walk through Proverbs 31 like this. I would be interested to know what those of you that have followed along have thought.

Here is today’s verse (28):

Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:

Her children arise and call her blessed.
I don’t know that I can speak to this from a mother’s stand point, since my babe is only 9 months old. Most of the time, he just growls at me. I don’t really think that is him calling me blessed.

Anyways, I can speak to this from a child’s perspective. My mom is an incredible and godly woman. She has blessed myself, my siblings, and my dad in countless ways over the years. Now, as a mother myself, I am still understanding new ways that my mom was a blessing, that I was unaware of.

When you are a mother that follows God, it will impact your child’s life. Maybe your child told you today that you are a blessing. Maybe it will take them 20 years to recognize the sacrifices you made to bless them. Maybe you will never hear your child speak these words to you. Regardless, listen to what this verse says. The children won’t way you are a blessing, but will call you blessed.

When you are a mother that follows God and impacts your child, you are blessed. God will bless you for your efforts. God is not wavering like a child or even myself. God’s promises can be banked on. He will bless you.

Her husband praises her.
For this verse to make sense, you must read it in the context of Proverbs 31. This husband is respected and honorable man. The wife is hard working and following God. The verses imply a healthy marriage relationship. In this context, it makes sense that the husband praises his wife for her efforts.

This is consistent with new testament verses in Ephesians 5:25 (Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.) and Colossians 3:19 (Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.).

I am blessed to have a husband that does speak lovingly and graciously to me. He reminds me of the good he has seen me do and helps me grow in areas I have done less than best in. What a joy this is!

Next post will talk specifically what this husband praises his wife for. Until then, here it the printable!

proverbs-31-28

