Uncategorized

All Those Words

Hello, lovelies!

Today’s verse is about words. As a woman, I’m quite fond of words. I like to read them, listen to them, write them, and I especially like to speak them. I want other people to hear my thoughts and my heart. I want them to know about my great ideas (and agree that they’re great) and my frustrations. Words are powerful. The bibles talks about these words and what they should look like. There’s even something said about words in Proverbs 31! Let’s keep going on the Proverbs 31 series and check it out.

She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

God knew what He was doing when He created woman. It is no surprise to Him that women thoroughly enjoy talking. He made us that way! He did this for a reason. Unfortunately, I often forget why He gave me the ability and affinity to speak. This verse reminds me why.

She speaks with wisdom.
She isn’t flippant in her speech.
She isn’t an exaggerator in her speech.
She isn’t rude in her speech.
She isn’t selfish and attention seeking in her speech.
She is WISE in her speech!

What is wisdom? This is Webster’s 1828 definition (I know it’s long, but it’s so GOOD. Hang in there and read it. It’s worth it.)

Wisdom: wisdom in act, effect, or practice. If wisdom is to be considered as a faculty of the mind, it is the faculty of discerning or judging what is most just, proper and useful, and if it is to be considered as an acquirement, it is the knowledge and use of what is best, most just, most proper, most conducive to prosperity or happiness. wisdom in the first sense, or practical wisdom is nearly synonymous with discretion. It differs somewhat from prudence, in this respect; prudence is the exercise of sound judgment in avoiding evils; wisdom is the exercise of sound judgment either in avoiding evils or attempting good. Prudence then is a species, of which wisdom is the genus.

She speaks with justice.
She speaks with a useful purpose.
She speaks with the best in mind.
She speaks with the most proper in mind.
She speaks in a way that it most conducive to prosperity and happiness.
She speaks with discretion.

Can I just say “OUCH”! Let’s look at the last half of the verse.

Faithful instruction is on her tongue.
Ask me if I can give instruction and I can gladly answer a loud “YES!” (Ask my family members, too. They will give the same answer.) However, this verse prefaces “instruction” with the not so little word “faithful”.

What impact does this word have? Faithful instruction means constant and true instruction. It doesn’t waver. It doesn’t falter. It stands firm in the truth of God’s word. We can faithfully speak instruction when our instruction is based on God’s truth! That is where our courage and endurance comes from.

Well, this verse is sure a  tall order. It’s an important one, though. I think I’m going to need to work on this for awhile. Here’s a printable if anyone needs a reminder, like I do!

proverbs-31-26

 

