Uncategorized

My Favorite Outfit

Hello, lovelies!

As I mentioned in the last Proverbs 31 post, this verse is my favorite. It’s not just my favorite in Proverbs 31, but it’s one of my favorite in the whole bible! By favorite I mean that this verse was on my High School Graduation cards, it’s part of my email address, and it’s on my Instagram profile. Check out Proverbs 31:25:

She is clothed with strength and dignity;
she can laugh at the days to come.

She is clothed with strength and dignity.
As a woman, the way we dress is pretty important to us. (Probably more important that it should be) It is a way for us to communicate who we are to those around us, without even speaking a work. Example: When I was picking out my latest pair of glasses, I told my husband that the look I was going for was “trendy mom-that has it together-but not too together”. But what look does God say I should shoot for? Strength & dignity.

Strength:
Physically strong for the tasks at hand.
Emotionally strong to support her family.
Spiritually strong to encourage those around her towards God.

Although God calls women to be gentle, He also calls us to be strong. Strong in Him.

Dignity:
According to Webster’s 1828, dignity is: True honor; nobleness or elevation of mind, consisting in a high sense of propriety, truth and justice, with an abhorrence of mean and sinful actions; opposed to meanness.

We must live according to God’s standard. We must be clothed in His character.

She can laugh at the days to come.
Maybe I’m the only one, but I’m a planner. Not just a “I have a general idea” planner, but a “I have every detail planned out and it better go accordingly” kind of planner. One reason that I had this verse used on my high school graduation cards is because of this situation:

While in high school, I completed college courses at our local community college through a program called Running Start. I was able to complete my entire AA, including all of the per-requisites for the nursing program that I planned to get in to. I had spent time and energy praying about where God wanted me to go to school. I felt a strong leading towards a specific school and I applied there. I applied only there, and nowhere else.

I was called for an interview, went to the interview, and waited. (I forgot to mention that getting into this program was fairly competitive) One day, I received a letter from the school that I had NOT been accepted. Well, that was the only plan I had. Of course, everyone asks you when you graduate “What are you going to do now?” I didn’t have a plan B. I knew that I had done what God wanted me to do, but I didn’t know what to do next.

While all that was going on, I put together my graduation cards. This verse fit perfectly. I didn’t know what the future was going to look like, but I could trust God. I could laugh at the future, because of who He is.

The end of the story is that I had been put on a wait list, some other people decided not to attend the nursing program, and I was able to attend in the fall. The plan worked out, it just had a little twist that was unexpected. I learned a lot in that twist and this verse speaks to what I learned. God is always good and can always be trusted. A godly woman lives in that.

Whew! A lot of words today. I would love to hear your story. Until next time, enjoy the printable!

Proverbs 31 25.jpg

 

