Uncategorized

The Seamstress Sequel

Hello lovelies!

As we have moved through Proverbs 31, I wonder what thoughts those of you reading have had. I would love to have you chime in by commenting on this post or previous ones. God’s word is living and active and God can reveal unique things to each one of us. What a blessing!

Let’s keep going! We’re currently at Proverbs 31:24 (just FYI, the next verse is my FAVORITE! I’m excited for the next post).

She makes linen garments and sells them,
    and supplies the merchants with sashes.

One of the previous posts talked about the Proverbs 31 woman sewing, too (vs. 19). I have chosen to look at commentaries on some of these verses, for a different perspective than I naturally have. I found a passage from the “Cambridge Bible for Schools and Colleges to be insightful:

This verse adds as it were the finishing stroke to the picture. While all home duties in every relation, to her husband, her children, her servants, and to the poor around her, are fully and faithfully discharged, she is yet able to increase her store by the sale of what the industry of herself and her maidens has produced. At the same time it throws an interesting light upon the state of society, in which the mistress of a large household and the wife of one who took his place “among the elders of the land’ did not think it unworthy of her to engage in honest trade.

I thought two things here stood out:

  1. Everything was taken care of at home, to the point that this godly woman felt she could extend herself further and bless her family further.
  2. It was acceptable for this godly woman to work outside the home.

This woman just continues to work and work! She works until all of her duties, plus a bunch, are taken care of at home. When this is finished, she continues to work and increasingly bless her family.

There are varying opinions about women working outside the home. There are lots of different reasons that a woman would work outside the home. I think that this is a very individual decision that has to be made between a husband, wife, and God. Of course, I have my own situation and opinion, but that’s all that they are.

Working outside the home or not, I think that there is an important principle to note here.

Luke 10:27 says to ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind.

God comes first. He is my first priority.

I think that the second priority, found in not one verse but is biblical principles, is family. My second responsibility is to my husband and son. I have responsibilities at home.

There are LOTS of other good things that yell for my attention: activities, friendships, hobbies, job opportunities, etc. None of these things are innately bad, however they have to fall in order in my list of priorities correctly.

This was a little “all over the place” today, but in summary, be aware of priorities. Ask God how He wants you to prioritize your life. I can struggle in this area a lot. There are so many good things that I want to do and be a part of. God has it all figured out though, so I need to trust His best.

See you next time! Enjoy the printable:

 

proverbs-31-24

