Uncategorized

I Thought This Was About Me?

Hello lovelies! We’re back with another Proverbs 31 post…and a twist! Let’s start with the verse:

Her husband is respected at the city gate,
where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.

This might seem a little off. Proverbs 31:10-31 is knows for being a description of a godly WOMAN…not man. This verse really does fit, though.

A godly woman’s husband is respected.

He is respected for two reasons:

Who he is.
He is this way because of choices he has made and the choice he has made to follow God.

It makes sense that a woman of noble character would marry a man of noble character. We are called to be equally yoked (see 2 Corinthians 6:14). After being married to my husband, I can express the amazing blessing it is to be unified with a man of godly values. Seeking God’s best as a couple is great. I’m not saying is all easy, but it is such a blessing. This is how union was made to be! A joining of two souls living for the same purpose = this is good.

Who his wife is.
You have your own thoughts, desires, talents, and dreams. However, when you get married, you become one with your husband. Your individuality becomes joined with your husbands individuality. You’re not your own person anymore.  That means that instead of your individuality being who you are, your individuality works together with your husband’s individuality to make a new unit. Mark 1o talks about how the “two become one”.

I say all that to say, who we are as wives will impact how others view our husbands. Our character reflects on them. This does go both directions. My husband’s character reflects on me, as well. We are one and as one, we are seen as a unit of decisions, character, and values. This is a great blessing when your husband is following God. If not, I would imagine this would be incredibly difficult.

To the woman who is not yet married, it really is important that your husband be the spiritual leader of your home. It really is a big deal. I can’t speak to what it is like, being married to someone with different values, but I trust that God’s word is truth and I have experienced the fruit of following His instruction to be equally yoked. Trust Him.

I would love to hear your experience with this situation.

Here’s the printable for today and see you next time for our next Proverbs 31 verse!

proverbs-31-23

 

