Uncategorized

This Little Light of Mine

Proverbs 31 series, post #9.

That sounds kind of official. Haha!

She sees that her trading is profitable,
    and her lamp does not go out at night.

She sees that her trading is profitable.
What she does is successful. I think that this can be deceiving. Is this saying that as a godly woman, we will be successful in the things that we do? Yes and no. From a godly perspective, if we do what God wants us to do the way that He tells us to do it, we will be successful.

From a worldly perspective? Not necessarily.

God does bless those who follow Him (there are SO many verses about this), but He doesn’t promise worldly prosperity.

Her lamp does not go out at night.
I hadn’t thought about it this way, but when my husband and I were talking about the verse, he said that he thought this meant she was prepared. She had enough oil in the lamp, so that she wouldn’t have to worry about it going out at night. She had made the proper provisions.

I don’t have to worry about putting enough oil in my lamp, but there are things as a wife and mom I can and should do to be prepared.

Make enough food to feed those that will be around the table.
Make my husbands lunch with enough food that he won’t be hungry.
Do the laundry, so that everyone has clothes to wear.

My husband would be the first one to tell you that these things are not only my responsibility, but our responsibilities, as a team. I appreciate and agree with that, but especially as a stay at home mom, I want to do as much of my part as I can. I am glad that I have the ability to prepare for our family in these small ways, even though they seem mundane at times.

This verse can be added to the list of verses in Proverbs 31 that shout out “Hard working”! A proverbs 31 woman is hard working. Maybe at the end I will count up how many references to this in the chapter there is. Until next verse!

proverbs-31-18

 

