Uncategorized

Gentle and/or Strong

Post #8 is here! Eight whole posts in the Proverbs 31 series! Sorry, a little excitement escaped me. This is a record of sorts, for me.

Proverbs 31:17 reads:

She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.

Websters 1828 Dictionary defines “vigorous” as follows:
Powerful; strong; made by strength, either of body or mind

This verse talks a lot about strength. I often picture a godly woman as a small, gentle, quiet woman. Big strong arms aren’t really a part of that picture, in my head. That’s not what this verse says, though.

God does not call a woman after his heart to be weak.

Yes, she will submit to her husband.
Yes, she will be gentle.
Yes, she will be gracious and loving.
Yes, she will be wise
NO, she will not be weak.

I think that I have a hard time wrapping my mind around this. I lean towards EITHER strong OR gentle. I struggle to find a way of being that is both of these. Maybe I’m not the only one?

These are some words that define gentle: Mild; meek; soft; not rough, harsh or severe.

It is possible to be BOTH strong AND gentle. This is who we are in Him.
We love with His love and are gentle, because of His grace, but we are strong to do the tasks which He has called us to do. We can stand firmly in Him and find confidence in Him.

This is an area I need to grow in. Here is a reminder for whoever else might need it:

proverbs-31-17

