Uncategorized

What To Do When It’s Night

Post #6! It’s actually coming together! Whew. It’s been so neat to see how each verse touches on a facet of being a godly woman while all having a universal theme. God’s hand is so evident in scripture. It is definitely “God breathed” (2 Timothy 3:16). Let’s keep this going!

She gets up while it is still night;
    she provides food for her family
    and portions for her female servants.

Now, I don’t know about you, but when I think about night, I think about sleep. If it’s not sleep, it’s jammies and hot chocolate, cuddles and warm blankets. According to this verse, though, a godly woman has something else in mind when it is night.

She gets up while it is still night.
This is another verse that shows the selflessness of a godly woman. She is constantly putting the needs of her family before herself. I don’t think that this is a command from God to forget about taking care of your physical body. He isn’t saying “Who needs sleep anyways?” No, God refers to our bodies as a temple for Him to dwell. He expects us to treat it well. I think that this verse is more talking about another way she is being wise with her time.

The godly woman didn’t stay up all night vegging out to Netflix. She isn’t hitting the snooze button three times and in doing so cutting short her quiet time (guilty). This woman went to bed at a reasonable time, knowing that she would wake to care for her family early the next morning. She is prepared to take on the new day because of wise choices she made the day before. This Proverbs 31 stuff builds on itself one wise and godly decision at a time.

She provides food for her family.
Maybe cooking is your thing. Maybe it’s not. Maybe your husband loves to cook and is really good at it. I don’t know where you’re at. I do know that I enjoy cooking for my family. My husband enjoys eating home cooked meals. He enjoys coming home after working all day and dinner being on the table.

Being a stay at home mom limits the ways I can physically provide for my family. I don’t bring in a lot of cash income. (Really I do much more spending than I do earning.) A lot of what us moms do is often intangible and immeasurable. You know what I can see and feel and measure though? Food on the table at dinner time.

She provides portions for her female servants.
Without getting into commentaries, this verse shows compassion and generosity. The female servant is not family. It’s not required that the Proverbs 31 woman provides enough food for her, too. She does it anyways.

I sure don’t have a female servant and don’t plan on getting one anytime soon. Does this mean I can ignore this part? Nope. The principal still applies. There are those in need around me. The new mom that doesn’t have family in town. The elderly man that just lost his wife. The new neighbors. The young woman without a friend. These individuals all have needs. They might need a meal or they might need someone to listen. Although my first priority (after God) is my family, God wants us to bless those beyond the walls of our homes, as well.

Balancing this takes wisdom and discernment. It take more than I have yet obtained. Balance is a hard issue for me, but I pray that God will continue to help me grow in this area.

Plan. Provide. Give. Be wise. Be generous.

proverbs-31-15

