Uncategorized

Expectation.

This is a quick break from the Proverbs 31 series. I am reading through Psalms in my morning quiet time and this morning I came across this verse:

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice;
    in the morning I lay my requests before you
    and wait expectantly.

This verse is simple, but has such powerful truth in it.

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice.
God hears my voice? What? The God of the universe chooses to listen to me. Not even I want to listen to me, sometimes, but God loves me enough to choose to do so.

I lay my requests before you.
Not only does God listen to us, but He gives us the opportunity to tell Him what is on our minds and ask for help. In other parts of scripture, we are even told to do this.

Wait expectantly.
This means that we can expect God to move. This doesn’t mean that He will do what we ask. This doesn’t mean that He will move right away. However, God loves us and has a perfect plan and answer for each request we bring before Him.

Wow. Like I said, nothing profound or complicated, but these simple truths are incredible. Why do I still take talking to God for granted, then? This is something I need to dwell on and grow in. Thank you, Lord, for hearing me.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve prayed and God has given me an answer. Each time it amazes me and encourages me. God is so good.

Here’s a printable of the verse, if anyone else needs a little reminder posted around their house.

psalm-5-3

