Uncategorized

Changing the World

Hello lovelies,

Welcome back. If you’ve read my “About Me” page, you know that I use to be an RN. I loved my job. I felt like I was good at what I did and was really making a difference in the lives I interacted with. I could truly say that I was “saving lives”. What a neat opportunity!

Well, today while I was ironing (because that’s when all deep thoughts seem to come) I was dwelling on where I am at in life. Everyone is posting on Facebook and Instagram about “First Day of School” and teachers are showing off their beautifully decorated classrooms. As I see these posts, I think things like this:
“Day 968 of diaper changes, laundry, ironing, cooking, and cleaning”
“Everyone else is experiencing exciting things”
“I am doing so little to make a difference in the lives of others”

I know, I know. These thoughts are NOT what I should dwell on. They’re not true. However, sometimes they do make an appearance in my head. Maybe I’m not the only one? Anyways, God brought back to mind a quote that I had read recently. I want to share it with you in two separate parts. Here it is:

If you want to change the world…

If you are anything like me, you’ll read those words and a little voice in your head will go “Yes! Yes! That’s what I want to do! Pick me! Pick me!” Tell me a big plan to change the world and I’m in. Let’s do this thing. Okay, now let’s read what all of us “do-er”s are going to do to change the world:

…go home and love your family.

-Mother Teresa

Wait, what?! That’s it?! No, you must be mistaken. We need a big elaborate plan. We need spread sheets, meetings, and planning. Where’s the real answer? This must be wrong. Wait….where have I heard something like this before?

But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.
1 Timothy 5:8

Children are a heritage from the Lord,offspring a reward from him.
Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth.
Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.
They will not be put to shame when they contend with their opponents in court.
Psalm 127:3-5

These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.
Deuteronomy 6:6-7

This IS how you change the world.

It’s that load of laundry that you just did (even though you just finished all the laundry an hour).
It’s that incredibly messy diaper that you just changed.
It’s that praise you give your child when they do what is right.
It’s the dinner you prepared, even though you’re not sure how they can already be hungry again.
It’s when you choose to be encouraging instead of critical at the end of a long day.

What a great reminder. Even though I feel like I’m doing so little, I am changing the world one ironed shirt, changed diaper, and cooked meal at a time. Please, God, use me in these little things.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love little reminders that I can post around my house. Maybe this pretty printable would be useful for you, too.

LoveYourFamily

One thought on “Changing the World

Comments are closed.