Uncategorized

Fresh Understanding

Hello lovelies!

Last week I was reading through Proverbs. It’s a pretty well known book of the bible. I’ve read through the book at least a handful of times. Well, last week I saw something that I hadn’t seen before. It hadn’t been hiding, in the past, but was just something that I hadn’t understood fully, in previous readings. Here it is:

I was reading Proverbs 2:7-8:

“He holds victory in store for the upright,

he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,

for he guards the course of the just

and protects the way of his faithful ones.”

So God makes good stuff happen for those that choose to be on His team, right? Wait…look at verses 1-6:

“My son, if you accept my words

and store up my commands within you,

turning your ear to wisdom

and applying your heart to understanding,

and if you call out for insight

and cry aloud for understanding,

and if you look for it as for hidden treasure,

then you will understand the fear of the LORD

and find the knowledge of God.

For the LORD gives wisdom,

and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.”

This isn’t a “God-rewards-those-who-are-on-His-team” thing. God told us how to be blessed. He told us how to get what we need. He made a way for us to have access to every good thing. He isn’t saying “You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours.” God is saying “I have what is good for you. I am what is good for you. I have the perfect plan for you and I want to bless you. Seek me and listen to me and I can bless you. That is what I want to do.”

Wow! God wants to bless me. He is just waiting for me to seek Him so He CAN bless me. He can’t bless me outside of Him, because every good and perfect gift is FROM Him. (Check out James 1:17) Although this seems like a simple and uncomplicated thing, this fresh truth reminded me about who God is and how incredible His love is. Our God is so good and gracious.

Here are those first couple of verses that I mentioned in a printable, to help us remember what God has in store for those who LET Him bless them.

Proverbs 2 7-8

