Uncategorized

Lemon Sugar Cookies

Hello, lovelies! Since I have been staying home with our sweet baby boy, I have been wanting to do something during his nap times. Most of the time nap times include me doing laundry, cleaning the house, and doing meal planning. However, sometimes I have some free time and being a “do-er”, I really want to do something productive.

Rewind a little bit. For my baby shower, my mom and I made these cute bow tie sugar cookies as favors. We hadn’t ever decorated cookies with royal icing, but we did the research, got the supplies, and went for it! It was so much fun and the results were REALLY tasty.

Since then I have been making cookies for friends and family for different occasions. My mom had the great idea of making sugar cookies that look like lemons to go with a end of the year teacher gift. Her even better idea was to make the sugar cookies lemon flavored. YUM! We looked around on Pinterest (because that’s where all the good stuff is) and couldn’t find the recipe we were looking for. We really liked how the cookies turned out with the recipe we were already using (they kept their shape really well and tasted good), but just wanted to make them lemon flavored.

I ended up taking the recipe we usually use (which you can find here from Bake at 350) and combining it with some components that other lemon flavored cookies had. They turned out SO good, so I thought I would share.

IMG_2163

Lemon Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

3 c unbleached, all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 c sugar
2 sticks butter, cold & cut into chunks
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp Lemon Juice
1-1/2 TBS Lemon Zest (I used 4 small lemons)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine the flour and baking powder, set aside. Cream the sugar and butter. Add the egg, vanilla, lemon juice, and lemon zest and mix. Gradually add the flour mixture and beat just until combined, scraping down the bowl, especially the bottom.

The dough will be crumbly, so knead it together with your hands as you scoop it out of the bowl for rolling.

Roll on a floured surface to about 1/4″ to 3/8″ thick, and cut into shapes. (For these cookies I used my 3″ circle cookie cutter and then cut some of the circles in half, to make my slices.) Place on parchment lined baking sheets and freeze the cut out shape on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before baking. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let sit a few minutes on the sheet, then transfer to a cooling rack.

Side note: I have found that one batch of cookies makes about 2 dozen cookies for me. For example, with my 3″ circle cookie cutter, I got about 30 circles out of one batch. Again, almost all of this recipe and the instructions are from Bake at 350. I only added the lemon part.

IMG_2161

For the decorating, I used yellow and white royal icing. I prefer to start with Julia Usher‘s royal icing recipe, as it uses egg whites instead of meringue powder. I only made a half batch of icing for these cookies. After mixing it up, I used most of the frosting to make my yellow and the rest of it I left white. (I tried to add lemon juice to my frosting and didn’t feel like it really added any flavor. Next time I would just leave the icing as is.)

I’ve found that people have differing opinions on the consistency of frosting you should use for flooding and piping. I like my flood icing to be a little more on the thin side (about 8 seconds, if you’re using the 10 second test that some people use.) I also don’t like to pipe and then fill it in with flood. I just do it all with my flood icing and then touch it up with a little tool.

Anyways, I flooded all of my cookies with the yellow base. By the time I was done flooding the last cookie, I made my white icing about a 10 second thickness and piped my details. Some like to use thicker icing for piping details, but I like to use the thinner, because I feel like it evens out more and hides my mistakes. To each his own!

IMG_2164

Ta-Da! That’s it. Nothing to spectacular, but they are a sweet springy cookie that is super yummy to eat! Enjoy and share your experience with these ideas!

