Uncategorized

Who Am I Suppose To Be?

Strong. Independent. Equal. Flawless.  Put together. Relaxed. Talented. Effortlessly perfect.

These are all words for the pressure that I feel is put on women on a daily basis. Whether you are a teenager learning what being a woman is suppose to look like, a young mom trying to show someone else what a woman is, or a middle aged woman who is suppose to be the example of what a woman is, these pressures are the same.

Sometimes I find myself feeling like there are just too many things I’m suppose to be, not enough me to be them, and then at the end of the day I don’t really know who I am at all. I’ve become all of these expectations that I fall short of. (Kind of reminds me of this post.)

I remember this one defining moment in high school. I can’t tell you how old I was, exactly, or what time of day it was, but I remember the feelings. I felt overwhelmed and unsure of who I was suppose to be. What was I suppose to do with my life? How am I suppose to be all of these things that women are suppose to be? I can’t do it! God reminded me that He knew who I was made to be (He did make me, after all.). I started to write down the things that I knew God had told me to be, in His word.

Doing this, I didn’t find out where I should go to college, who my friends should be, or what I should major in. What I did find was truth and life. I found a purpose.

This is who He says that we should be:

Gracious: A gracious woman gets honor, and violent men get riches.  Proverbs 11:16

Kind and Generous: She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy. Proverbs 31:20

SubmissiveWives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. Colossians 3:18

Reverent, Loving, Self-Controlled, Pure, Hard Working, Kind, and Submissive: Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God. Titus 2:3-5

Wise:  The wisest of women builds her house, but folly with her own hands tears it down. Proverbs 14:1

What is wisdom? But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere. James 3:17 
You read that right. That didn’t say a woman should have it all together, be independent, or assertive. You might not find this stuff on Pinterest or Instagram, but when we are who He says we should be, we are filled with joy and life! We feel whole and right. It can be difficult when we feel like we don’t measure up to the world’s definition, but we are measuring ourselves by the wrong standard. Trust God. He loves us and wants the best for us.
Does anyone else feel this way at times, or am I just talking to myself?
Here is a printable pretty as a reminder of who God has called us to be!
James 3 17
