Uncategorized

Things I’ve Learned as a New Mom

It’s been awhile! I’ve been spending my time other places, the last few months. I wanted to put together a compilation of things I’ve learned in the first few months of mommy-hood. Here it is:

IMG_0515

  1. Sometimes you taking a nap is the best thing for everyone. I’ve never really liked the idea of naps. If I sleep during the day, I feel guilty about all the things I could have gotten done during that time. This being said, there were times during these first few months that I was emotional and irritated and irrational. I would take a nap and WHA-LAH I would feel so much better. Not only was it okay for me to take a nap, it was best for everyone.
  2. A change of pace can be a hard adjustment. I worked full time as a nurse, before baby J came along. My wonderful husband and I prayed about it and both felt like it wolf’s be best for our family if I stayed home while we have young children. I am so thankful for the blessing of being able to do this and have a supportive husband. Even so, going from working full time in a job I loved to starting and home was difficult. There was more than one day that I felt like all I did was feed my baby. I came to realize that there was still a lot I could do, it was just going to be different. I opened a little Etsy shop and started making and decorating sugar cookies. This has helped me feel productive and they are super fun hobbies. Different isn’t bad, but it can take some time to adjust. That’s okay.IMG_20351
  3. It’s okay if I don’t know everything about my baby. I’ve only known him for a few months. It really intimidated me when people would ask me a specific question about my baby. They would ask things like “Does he like to be held this way?” My mind would race and I would try to come up with the answer, now feeling like I should know this fact. The truth is, I didn’t know if he liked to be held that way. Sometimes he would cry when held that way and sometimes he would fall asleep. When he was fussy, people would start to say things like “Is his tummy bothering him?” Again, my mind would race. I don’t know why he’s fussy. I wish I did. However, I don’t know why he cries most of the time. I came to the conclusion that it’s okay that I don’t know everything about my baby. I’ve only known him for a few months and I don’t know every detail about other people I’ve known for that length of time. My baby and I will keep getting to know each other and figuring things out together.YouAreEnough
  4. Moms need a lot less criticism and a lot more encouragement. I found that the smallest critical comment can cut deep when it’s directed toward my efforts at mommy-hood. Every mom is trying her hardest and, as we all know, feeling like she’s falling short. There are very few things that are worth sharing an opinion about. It does a lot more to encourage. I’m a part of a MOPs group (which I love!) and as we talked at a table a week ago, we all decided that something we want to hear, more than almost anything, is “You’re Enough”. This is what we need. (p.s. the “You Are Enough” graphic is another free printable pretty. Enjoy!)
  5. There’s a lot more to learn. This is just the beginning. I’ve learned lots of other things, than these, but this is a good start. Here’s to what else God has in store!
