Uncategorized

Meal Plan for 12/27-1/2

The first plan for the new year! Wow! Here it is:

Meal Plan 12.27-1.2Meal Plan 12.27-1.2

Vegetable Enchiladas with Green Sauce

Ingredients:
8-10 lg Tortillas
3-1/2 C Green Chile Enchilada Sauce
12 oz Canned Mushrooms
6 oz Canned Olives (sliced)
2 C Spinach
15.5 oz can Pinto Beans
15.5 oz can Black Beans
2 Chipotle Peppers (diced)
1/2 lb Cheese (shredded)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350*.
Combine 1-1/2 C Green Chile Enchilada sauce, mushrooms, olives, spinach, beans, peppers, and half of cheese in a large mixing bowl.
Stuff tortillas as full as you can and place them seam down in a greased 9X13 baking dish.
Pour remaining sauce and cheese over the top of the enchiladas.
Bake for 25-35 minutes.

Macaroni and Cheese

Ingredients:
8 oz. Elbow Macaroni (I use Whole Wheat)
4 Tbs Butter
3/4 Cracker Crumbs
1 Onion (minced)
1 Tbs Flour
1/4 tsp Dry Mustard
1 tsp Salt
1/8 tsp Pepper
1-1/2 C Milk
2 C Shredded Cheese (I use a mix)

Directions:
Melt 2 Tbs of butter in a sauce pan, add onion, and saute until tender.
Add flour, salt, pepper, and mustard. Stir together well.
Add milk and cheese and cook until thickened.
In a separate pan, cook noodles. Drain and place in a baking dish (9Ă—13).
Pour cheese mixture over the noodles.
Tops with crushed crackers that have been coated with the remaining melted butter.
Bake dish at 350* for 20 minutes.

 

15 Minute Tilapia

Ingredients:
4 Tilapia Fillets
1 Tbs Olive Oil
Garlic Salt
1/2 Shredded Parmesan

Directions:
Place tilapia on aluminum foil.
Lightly brush top and sides of tilapia with olive oil.
Sprinkle garlic salt and Parmesan over tilapia.
Either grill over medium heat for 12-15 minutes or bake in over at 375* for 12-15 minutes.

 

Breakfast Quiche

Ingredients:
8 oz frozen Broccoli
1 Bell Pepper (diced)
1 bag of Spinach
8 oz Ground Turkey
1/2 Onion (diced)
5 Eggs
1 Frozen Pie Crust

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400*.
Brown ground turkey.
While turkey is cooking, saute the diced pepper and onion in a separate pan.
Once the onions are translucent, add in the spinach and cook for a few minutes. (You may need to add a few Tbs of water to keep spinach from drying out)
Whist the eggs.
Mix all ingredients together and pour into the pie crust.
Bake for 25-30 min.

Emma’s notes: I usually double this recipe and freeze the second quiche for later. It’s like a free dinner sometime in the next couple of weeks!
I have some misc. frozen veggies in the fridge that I will probably add to this quiche. That’s the great thing about quiche: Almost anything goes!

Cashew Chicken

Ingredients:
1 lb boneless Chicken
2 Tbs Olive Oil
1 can sliced Mushrooms
1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 C Celery (sliced)
1-1/2 Tbs Soy Sauce
1/2 C Cashews
Hot cooked rice

Directions:
Combine chicken, olive oil, mushrooms, soup, and soy sauce in slow-cooker.
Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hrs OR high for 4-6 hrs. About 45 minutes before serving, add in Celery.
Add cashews JUST before serving.
Serve over rice.

Chicken and Noodles

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/homemade-chicken-and-noodles/

Emma’s notes:
I love homemade bread! For my homemade bread, here are a few recipes I like to use.

The “I-Actually-Remembered-The-Night-Before” Bread: http://www.jocooks.com/bakery/breads/crusty-bread/
This one is super easy, it just requires 12-18 hrs to rise. This means remembering the day before that I want homemade bread. How likely is that?

The “It’s-Dinner-Time-In-An-Hour-And-I-Want-Homemade-Bread” Bread:
http://www.lafujimama.com/2009/09/simple-one-hour-homemade-bread/
This bread is also very easy. I think when I’ve made it in the past, I used whole wheat flour and it worked well. This one is easy, QUICK, and it makes the house smell yummy!

Another note: I have some frozen spinach in my freezer, because I may have miscalculated how much was necessary for a couple recipes. I’m planning on using it for my recipes that call for fresh spinach this week. I haven’t had any issues with this substitution in the past and I don’t have to worry about having fresh spinach go bad in my fridge. Win win!

One thought on “Meal Plan for 12/27-1/2

Comments are closed.